Tuesday, May 10, 2016

Writes of Springs winners announced

The Lafayette Public Library recognized winners of the Writes of Spring writing contest last week: high school winners on May 5 at the Main Library and elementary through middle school winners on May 7 at the South Regional Library. The high school ceremony also featured a talk by young adult author Alys Arden. Winners received a certificate and a printed anthology of the winning pieces. The Writes of Spring is an annual writing contest that encourages students in grades K-12 from Acadiana to submit original works of fiction, nonfiction and poetry in English and French. For more information, call the Lafayette Public Library at 261-5787. A full list of winners is available at LafayettePublicLibrary.org.

Photo: Some of the high school winners of the Writes of Spring contest, with YA author Alys Arden. Front Row, left to right: Taylor Babineaux, Jules Ann Abadie, Alexandra Malcombe, Gabrielle Hoffpauir, Mary Broussard; Second row: Claire Koke, Payton Pippin, Grace Parker, Tessa Schorr, Emily Bryson, Emma Young, Lilly Perron, Author Alys Arden; Back row: Brynne Tynes, Brianna Frey, Nicholas Buford, Joseph Benton, Madison Price, Caden Foreman, Andrew Ferguson.