Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Isaacson up for National Book Award

            The National Book Awards nonfiction longlist were announced and include Walter Isaacson of New Orleans, for his book “The Innovators,” and John Lahr, who wrote about New Orleans’ most famous playwright, “Tennessee Williams: Mad Pilgrimage of the Flesh.”
            The list includes:
            Roz Chast, Can't We Talk About Something More Pleasant? (Bloomsbury)
            John Demos, The Heathen School: A Story of Hope and Betrayal in the Age of the Early Republic (Knopf)
            Anand Gopal, No Good Men Among the Living: America, the Taliban, and the War through Afghan Eyes (Metropolitan Books)
            Nigel Hamilton, The Mantle of Command: FDR at War, 1941 - 1942 (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
            Walter Isaacson, The Innovators (Simon & Schuster)
            John Lahr, Tennessee Williams: Mad Pilgrimage of the Flesh (Norton)
            Evan Osnos, Age of Ambition: Chasing Fortune, Truth, and Faith in the New China (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)
            Ronald C. Rosbottom, When Paris Went Dark: The City of Light Under German Occupation, 1940-1944 (Little, Brown)
            Matthew Stewart, Nature's God: The Heretical Origins of the American Republic (Norton)
            Edward O. Wilson, The Meaning of Human Existence (Norton)